4 Stages Of Asthma

4 Stages Of Asthma

Asthma is a very serious respiratory condition which affects the bronchi. The bronchi are present in the lungs of a person. These bronchi branch out from the wind pipe and serve the purpose of carrying inhaled air to the lungs.

During exhalation, the air from the lungs passes through the bronchi and is then expelled through the nose. On a normal basis, the bronchi allow the smooth flow of air through them. However, in the case of asthma, the bronchi become very narrow and this causes the patient to experience great difficulty while breathing.

Asthmatic patients often experience spasmodic attacks which cause them to lose their breath for a while. Asthma is passed down from parents to their children. This means that it is a hereditary condition. It cannot be cured but doctors normally prescribe medicines and inhalers that can ease the discomfort experienced during an asthmatic attack.

Certain medicines are also able to reduce the frequency of these asthmatic attacks. Inhalers cause the dilation of the narrowed air passages and this helps to regulate the flow of air to and from the lungs of the patient.

It is important to note that certain foods are capable of triggering asthmatic attacks and such foods must be eliminated from your diet in order to avoid discomfort. The symptoms of asthma worsen as time passes by. There are four levels or stages in asthma.

Stage 1 Of Asthma

This stage is also known as mild intermittent asthma. In this stage, the symptoms of asthma are not severe and the patient rarely experiences breathing problems. Such people are able to lead a normal life.

Breathing problems occur about once or twice a week and these spells do not last very long. Doctors normally recommend the use of an inhaler when the person suffers from an asthmatic attack.

This stage follows mild intermittent asthma and is known as mild persistent asthma. The symptoms of mild persistent asthma are not very severe although they affect the patients and prevent them from doing their daily work.

Asthmatic attacks are experienced more frequently in this stage and the patient needs to use an inhaler more often.

Stage 3 Of Asthma

As time passes by, the patient begins to experience the symptoms of asthma on a daily basis. It becomes difficult for the patients to sleep as they lose their breath even during the night. This causes them to gasp for air.

The third stage of asthma is also known as moderate persistent asthma and is followed by the last and most severe stage of asthma. Very strong medication is prescribed during this stage and the patient might need to use very strong inhalers too.

Stage 4 Of Asthma

This is the final stage of asthma and is also known as severe persistent asthma. The patient experiences severe breathing problems and has to consume strong medicines so as to ensure the smooth functioning of the lungs.

Patients experience symptoms in the morning and even at night. The lungs become weak and so they are unable to function efficiently. This results in very frequent asthmatic attacks.


Romil is a blogger who loves to write on several topics from last few years.